Bananas

I should report here that yesterday T pointed at a banana and said nana. I wasn’t there to witness it, but Rachel swears that’s how it happened. So this becomes the fifth word in her active vocabulary after, in order of appearance as I remember it, hello/hiya, bye-bye, Dada and Mummy. She also had her one-year trip to the health visitor, who was impressed at her walking ability and wrote that she was an “A1 star”. I’m not sure that this is a medical term.

10.30pm update: I forgot that she said ball this morning. So that’s six words, and counting. Rachel reports that she said balloon this afternoon, though I need to confirm that one. Still, I think something’s happened in the last few days and she seems to be ready to move to the next level, speech-wise. All very exciting. Meanwhile, I got a text from my (other) sister Abi today to say that he daughter Zoe, six months T’s junior, was talking. It turns out that she’s just saying da-da-da a bit. Not, strictly speaking, talking but an improvement for sure. So a day of major speech-based advances for the whole family.

~ by Simon on October 3, 2008.

Leave a comment